Part One: Why am I leaving my life for a year?

Behappy

I’m going to avoid writing out the entire backstory in one blog post. I’ll be dedicating this particular post to explaining why I have flipped my life around instead of completing my fourth year.

I guess the main reason behind my choice: I wasn’t happy where my life was headed. I don’t want to just graduate with a degree and find a 9 to 5 job. I want AND need a career that is more than just about me. I want to be doing something that contributes to the well-being of others. I want something that makes me HAPPY and helping others lights up something in me that I can’t really describe.

Completing 4th year would have been smooth sailing. I had my community at Laurier. Over the last few years, I met a lot of people by putting myself out there and getting involved (Orientation Leader, Foot Patrol, AIESEC, etc.) I’m a hardcore introvert so I’m super proud of this mind you! I felt safe and comfortable at Laurier. I was scared that if I didn’t take a risk, I wouldn’t get another chance or even worse, I would be too scared to leave behind what was comfortable. Ultimately, I felt that if I went with the safe route, I wouldn’t become the person I needed to be so I can make my dreams a reality.

One thought on “Part One: Why am I leaving my life for a year?

Leave a comment